Britney Spears to release Impose cassette #10

Post Author:
Britney Spears Cassette

Just three days after releasing her highly anticipated seventh full length, Femme Fatale, we're pleased to announce that Britney Spears will be the tenth installment in our Impose Cassette series.

As you may know, after many tumultuous years as a pop princess, Britney spent much of the last three following 2008's Circus in seclusion. Following a few emotional breakdowns and the occasional lip-syncing fiasco, Spears went into hiding. But what you might not know is that many of her nights were spent recording on a four-track in her bedroom. Not nearly as glossy as her major label releases, her four-track recordings are lo-fi conceptual vocal fragments of some of today's best up-and-coming indie artists.

Entitled, Vocal Interpretations: Britney Spears Covers Pitchfork's Best New Music, the cassette will feature Britney's versions of songs by Animal Collective, Wavves, Dirty Beaches, and the one we're most excited to hear, Jamie xx's remix of Gil Scott Heron's “NY Is Killing Me”. She even takes a stab at Tyler, the Creator's “Yonkers“.

Next Tuesday we will release number seven in our series, Graffiti Monster's Two Oxen. And while Britney's Vocal Interpretations could've been our ninth (Prince Rama's already penned to be number eight), we figured it would be amazing to celebrate our tenth cassette with such a prominent name.

“I'll be honest, I have no idea who or what Impose is,” Spears shared with us. “But anyone who supports nerds who record in their bedrooms because they don't have enough friends to start a band… well, they have to be good people.”

Vocal Interpretations: Britney Spears Covers Pitchfork's Best New Music will be limited to 100 copies with special artwork by Shepard Fairey. Due to the high demand of this project, we will begin taking pre-orders on April 1, 2012.