January 2022 Mix

Post Author: Jeff Cubbison

Starting off the year on a high with Let’s Eat Grandma, death’s dynamic shroud, Guerilla Toss & more

It’s a new year with new energy and new purpose, and thankfully it started off right with a brand new single and video from Let’s Eat Grandma. The Norwich-based electronic pop duo took the indie-sphere by storm with their first two albums I, Gemini and I’m All Ears, dazzling listeners with searingly poignant lyrics, stratospheric choruses and futuristic synth textures. As we dreamed, they’ll be releasing their third album Two Ribbons on April 22, and they’re back with the gorgeous new single “Happy New Year,” which fittingly leads off our first monthly YouTube mix of the year.

Elsewhere, we’ve got offerings from some neat underground acts bubbling up from the Bandcamp universe, including Kinoteki, iANO and Dead City CCTV. There’s also a pair of heaters from the recent Teenage Halloween/The Homeless Gospel Choir split EP, a high point from Arca’s Kick data dump, as well as new singles, videos and live clips from the likes of Boy Harsher, Deaf Club, Burial, and more. You can check out the mix and the tracklist below:


1. Let’s Eat Grandma – “Happy New Year”
2. Arca – “Bruja”
3. MIKE – “In My World”
4. Shenseea – “Dolly”
5. The Homeless Gospel Choir – “Harrisburg Shoes”
6. Teenage Halloween – “Floating”
7. Reptalians – “Like A Dog”
8. iANO – “Beyond Face”
9. Diet Cig – “Stare Into The Sun”
10. Small Talk. “I Bring You Down”
11. death’s dynamic shroud – “Judgement Bolt”
12. SASAMI – “Say It”
13. Boy Harsher – “Machina” (feat. Ms. BOAN & Mariana Saldaña)
14. Softcult – “Gaslight” (LIVE on Indie88)
15. Guerilla Toss – “Cannibal Capital”
16. Genesis Owusu – “Gold Chains” (Late Show with Stephen Colbert)
17. Fontaines D.C. – “Jackie Down The Line”
18. Kinoteki – “Pirate”
19. ANXIOUS – “Growing Up Song”
20. Dead City CCTV – “Valtatie 6”
21. Deaf Club (LIVE on Half Way Home Sessions)
22. SRSQ – “Someday I Will Bask in the Sun”
23. Yumi Zouma – “In the Eyes of Love”
24. Battle Ave – “Leo”
25. NewDad – “Say It”
26. Vitesse X – “Us Ephemeral”
27. Earl Sweatshirt – “Titanic”
28. Red Vox – “Visions and Afterthoughts”
29. Fly Anakin – “No Dough” (Prod. by Madlib)
30. A Place to Bury Strangers – “I’m Hurt”
31. Ibibio Sound Machine – “All That You Want”
32. PUP – “Robot Writes a Love Song”
33. Foxtails – “Gazelle”
34. Hatchie – “Quicksand”
35. Burial – “Upstairs Flat”