March 2024 Mix

Post Author: Jeff Cubbison

Friko, Allie X, Mk.gee, SKXNNX & more usher in a spring musical oasis

Spring is in the air, and we’re feeling the bright, sunny motivation to emerge from our winter cocoons. Thankfully, we’ve been blessed with a pretty phenomenal soundtrack to go along with these vibes. In the past month, several amazing albums have dropped, and we’ll be spotlighting a track off of each of them. In addition, a huge number of singles and music videos have also been released, and we’re excited to get you all caught up.

Right off the bat, the Chicago-based indie rock unit Friko have released perhaps the best album of the year so far with Where we’ve been, Where we go from here, and lead track “Where We’ve Been” kicks off our playlist in stunning fashion. Noise pop and chamber pop elements create a rich sonic tapestry that ebbs and flows in searing ways.

The mix also includes the track “Weird World” off Allie X‘s phenomenal new album Girl With No Face. Sleek, dramatic goth pop is the name of the game on this exciting opening track, which contains cold, angry, nocturnal vibes that persist throughout the rest of this terrific LP. Almost 20 years into her career, the Canadian-born synthpop vet has leveled up with perhaps her best album yet.

We’ve also got a squiggly, fiery trap banger in “ERA,” from Cameroonian rapper SKXNNX, who is currently based out of Moscow. Here, a distinctive melodic rap flow takes center stage over pulsating bass drops and atmospheric keys that resonate like the wind. We’ll definitely be keeping our eyes on this promising new artist going forward.

Tracks off of new albums by Erika de Casier, Ducks Ltd., Kali Malone, Faye Webster, and many more appear, in addition to brand new singles (from newly announced albums) from DIIV, Waxahatchee, A.G. Cook & more rounding out this potent playlist. You can dive in via YouTube or Spotify, and check out the track list below.


1. Friko – “Where We’ve Been”
2. Allie X – “Weird World”
3. DIIV – “Brown Paper Bag”
4. Chelsea Wolfe – “Unseen World”
5. Ducks Ltd. – “On Our Way To The Rave”
6. Kali Malone – “All Life Long”
7. Job For A Cowboy – “Beyond the Chemical Doorway”
8. Brittany Howard – “Every Color In Blue”
9. Fred Again.. & Lil Yachty & Overmono – “stayinit”
10. SKXNNX – “ERA”
11. Tapeworms – “Superstar”
12. Erika de Casier – “Someone”
13. MGMT – “Dancing In Babylon” (feat. Christine & The Queens)
14. Laetitia Sadier – “Panser L’Inacceptable”
15. desert sand feels warm at night – “酷暑”
16. No Windows – “Fibbs”
17. Mannequin Pussy – “Nothing Like”
18. Nourished By Time – “Hand On Me”
19. Discovery Zone – “Pair A Dice”
20. Mk.gee – “Are You Looking Up”
21. Amen Dunes – “Purple Land”
22. Peaking Lights – “Mental”
23. Night Tapes – “Loner”
24. Vitesse X – “Right Now 2.0” (Pictureplane Remix)
25. Jessica Pratt – “Life Is”
26. Waxahatchee – “Bored”
27. abriction – “Superposition”
28. Dean Blunt – “urban cowboy syndrome”
29. A.G. Cook – “Britpop”
30. Faye Webster – “Feeling Good Today”