Tristen, Sneaker Waves

Post Author: Elizabeth Schneider

Sneaker Waves is the third album for Nashville based artist Tristen. This album is full of well written songs, all sung in Tristen’s delicate voice. With a voice quality similar to Leigh Nash of Sixpence None The Richer, Tristen makes even the most heartbreaking lyrics sound hopeful.
The first single from Sneaker Waves is “Glass Jar (feat. Jenny Lewis)” and it is a strong offering with adept guitar work and powerful lyrics. “I don’t have to say goodbye, You don’t get to see me cry, You put me in a glass jar and tap, tap, tap to see how I move.” Lewis is a perfect harmonic foil for Tristen. Together, they have created what should be a popular single.
“Lions” is a solid indie/country contribution about forging ahead in times when things aren’t exactly what you might have expected. With “Frozen”, on the other hand, Tristen employs a minor key and a harsher tone to convey a point when it’s hard to move forward. “I can let this fire smolder, Stuck inside and growing colder, Waiting for you, I am frozen”.
“Psychic Vampire” has an early 60’s vibe to it and Tristen fits comfortably in that era as well. Each tune on Sneaker Waves has a slightly different feel to it and the entire album will fit nicely on any playlist.
Track List:
1. Got Some
2. Glass Jar (feat. Jenny Lewis)
3. Alone Tonight
4. NYC
5. Negotiating
6. Partyin’ Is Such Sweet Sorrow
7. Lions
8. Psychic Vampire
9. Into The Sun
10. Frozen
11. Clandestine
12. Salty Tears (b-side)
Sneaker Waves is out now. Keep up with Tristen here.