A.G. Cook – ‘Apple vs. 7G’

Post Author: Jeff Cubbison

PC Music boss unleashes slate of wondrous remixed tracks from latest LPs

Last year, hyperpop purveyor and PC Music label-head A.G. Cook stepped out of the shadows and released his debut LP 7G, a hulking behemoth of a project that clocked in at 49 tracks over three-plus hours. That collection amounted to a massive data dump of songs, demos, unfinished tracks, and instrumental stems – something of a rare, unfettered behind-the-scenes glimpse at the PC Music studios, with Cook as its tour guide. It captured our hearts and cracked our Top 50 Albums of 2020 list.

Cook quickly followed that up with the more “typical” album effort Apple, a tighter 11-track record which zeroed in more on the producer’s intensely ethereal pop sensibilities. Today he revisits the albums via Apple vs. 7G, which remixes and re-imagines several tracks off of both records in a way that only A.G. Cook himself could pull off. Here, Cook again masterfully traverses the extreme polar ends of his sound – from saccharine melodic sweetness to grinding, bombastic dissonance.

Apple vs. 7G features guest appearances from Caroline Polachek, Charli XCX, Hannah Diamond, No Rome, Boys Noize, Oklou, Sarah Bonito, and many more. The result is a technicolor cross-pollination of PC Music impulses, and a delight for Cook’s culty contingent. You can check out the track listing and preview the album below:


1. Oh Yeah (Caroline Polachek Remix)
2. Xcxoplex (feat. Charli XCX)
3. Beautiful Superstar (EASYFUN Remix)
4. Being Harsh (Oklou Cover)
5. H2O2 (feat. Denzel Himself)
6. 2021 (umru Remix)
7. The Darkness (Remix) (feat. Sarah Bonito & Hannah Diamond)
8. Lil Song (Unplugged) (With jonny gorgeous)
9. Stargon (Boys Noize Remix)
10. Lifeline (Ö Remix)
11. Alright (Dream Mix)
12. Airhead (Doss Remix)
13. Gold Leaf (GRRL Remix)
14. Today (Dream Mix)
15. The Darkness (Eartheater Remix)
16. Windows (No Rome Remix)
17. Drink Blood (caro<3 Remix)
18. Beautiful Superstar (Baauer Remix)
19. Airhead (Ö & Canblaster Remix)
20. Soft Landing (Max Tundra Remix)
21. Gold Leaf (Supersaw Edit)