Chanhays ft. Skyzoo, Uptown XO, Elzhi, "Running"

Post Author: Andre G

Nova Scotia-based producer ChanHays says “he can do it all” as a producer, and is looking to show it off on his upcoming Here album, set to be unveiled on October 20th. ChanHays employed a who’s who of underground spitters in his quest, from The Cool Kids, Pharoahe Monch, Masta Ace, Roc Marciano, Homeboy Sandman, Conway, Cormega, Rapper Big Pooh. If that lineup isn’t enough, add Skyzoo, Elzhi, and Uptown XO, who dug deep for the melancholy “Running.”

Comprised primarily of a contemplative horn loop and crispy drums, the three MCs skillfully play off the theme of “running,” from social commentary to running the rap game to the imagery of XO’s mother with runs in her stockings from working so hard to provide for him, the song comes through in full. If “Running” is any indication, ChanHays succeeded in his bid to give his favorite rhymers “backdrops on which they can really flex,” as he said over e-mail.

You can find out for sure next Friday, and pre-order here, which will also let you hear “New Bag,” and the Homeboy Sandman-featuring exclusive “The Shoes.”

You can stream “Running” below as well as view the tracklist.

1) ‘Of The Essence’ f/ Skyzoo

2) ‘Smokin’ f/ Guilty Simpson, Phat Kat & Fat Ray

3) ‘New Bag’ f/ The Cool Kids

4) ‘Bully Zone’ f/ Conway, Ill Bill

5) ‘Horn Play’ f/ Roc Marciano, Meyhem Lauren, Ghettosocks

6) ‘Never Knew’ f/ Supastition, One Be Lo & Ambition

7) ‘The Shoes’ f/ Homeboy Sandman, Ghettosocks, John Robinson

8) ‘Running’ f/ Skyzoo, Elzhi & Uptown XO

9) ‘Sipset Science’

10) ‘Ghost In The Shell’ f/ Pharoahe Monch, Ras Kass & Ghettosocks

11) ‘Front Page’ f/ Elcamino & BENNY

12) ‘Diamonds’ f/ Torae, Vice Soletric, Rapper Big Pooh

13) ‘The Medicine’ f/ Cormega, Quake Matthews, Ruste Juxx

14) ‘Freedom’ f/ Edo.G, Skyzoo, Reks & Reeny Smith

15) ‘Gotta Love it’ f/ Ras Kass, Guilty Simpson, Ghettosocks & Tachichi

16) ‘Sit Back’ f/ Erick Sermon, Saukrates

17) ‘Infinity’ f/ Masta Ace, Nilla, AG