Lower Dens, “Brains”

Post Author:

I'm sure it comes as a surprise to exactly no one that Impose loves the new Lower Dens track. After all, when it comes to Lower Dens we are like the kid who won't shut up about how cool his new toy is. We wish we didn't have to share.

But if we have to let anyone else hear Lower Dens, we might as well proclaim our love extremely publicly. We just received the first single off of their new record Nootropics, which is set to be released on Ribbon Music on May Day in North America. “Brains” is infused with a buzzing hum early on, and you could mistake the first minute of the track, before Jana Hunter's vocals come in, for something old from British guitar goddesses Electrelane. But for all the space between the vocals and the drone, the pieces combine into a building, stirring harmony, driven by high-hat urgencies. “Don't be afraid/Don't be afraid/Everything will change/While you're asleep,” sings Hunter, and you can give yourself over to believing her for the duration of the song.

Lower Dens, “Brains”

Track listing for Nootropics:</p>

1. Alphabet Song
2. Brains
3. Stem
4. Propagation
5. Lamb
6. Candy
7. Lion in Winter Pt. 1
8. Lion in Winter Pt. 2
9. Nova Anthem
10. In the End is the Beginning