Week in Pop: Airiel, Indian Agent, Invisible Boy, Sleeping In

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

With our consciousness, hearts & efforts searching for ways to help the fires in California, Impose’s Week in Pop brings some hope to our shared worlds with some of the latest breaking exclusives. Bringing now some of the big buzz you might have missed, Shamir dropped the Ryan Carpenter video for “Straight Boy” off the upcoming Relations available November 3 from Father/Daughter Records; John Maus returned with the Jennifer Juniper Stratford video with effects from Telefantasy Studios for “Teenage Witch” off the upcoming album Screen Memories available October 27 from Ribbon with a six disc box set slated for release in April, 2018 with a tour in effect now & also shared some insights; Kendrick Lamar & YG Hootie dropped “The City”; Dev Hynes shared insights about the new Blood Orange album; Porches dropped the Nicholas Harwood & Aaron Maine directed video for “Country”; Mansions announced the Deserter EP available November 3 via Bad Timing Records & dropped “Heel Theme”; Lil Baby x Marlo dropped the mixtape 2 The Hard Way; Charly Bliss dropped the video for “Scare U”; Baths, oka Will Wisenfeld dropped “Out” off the upcoming album Romaplasm available November 17 from Anticon; Thundercat dropped the video for “Show You the Way” ft. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins; Quality Control’s own Mak Sauce dropped the video for “Hobby” with the upcoming project Blind To Reality 2 available October 31; Uppermost dropped the Joseph B. Carlin/Transfixion Films video for “Make a Change” off upcoming album available March 23, 2018; Devendra Banhart dropped “Another Planet” part of split 7″ with Shintaro Sakamoto; Kris Wu dropped “Deserve” ft. Travis Scott; Gregg Kowalsky announced the new album L’Orange, L’Orange available November 10 from Mexican Summer; Killer Mike offered some commentary on politics, patriotism, the NFL & more; Mac Demarco is selling Rock and Roll Night Club test pressings as a benefit for Caribbean hurricane relief cause Waves for Water; playing Brooklyn’s Baby’s All Right October 15, Fresh & Onlys dropped the Ryan Daniel Browne video for “Impossible Man” off the Sinderlyn album Wolf Lie Down; Steve Angello dropped Act II – Inferno featuring the singles “Freedom” ft. Pusha T & “I Know” off the upcoming album Almost Human; Cut Worms dropped “Song Of The Highest Tower” off the debut EP Alien Sunset available October 20 from Jagjaguwar; Deer Tick dropped the video for “Cocktail”; King Krule dropped The OOZ; Dizzy dropped “Stars & Moons”; ISLAND signed to Frenchkiss Records & dropped the Axel Danielson & Maximilien Van Aertryck video for “Try”; Makeness signed to Secretly Canadian & dropped “Loud Patterns” with November/December stateside tour dates with Jungle; Tory Lanez dropped “Real Thing” ft. Future; The Rural Alberta Advantage released The Wild via Saddle Creek/Paper Bag Records; Prurient announced the new album Rainbow Mirror available December 1 from Hospital Productions & dropped “Naturecum”; TUSKS covered Foals’ “London Thunder” with the debut album Dissolve available now from One Little Indian; Kelela covered Sade’s “Like a Tattoo”; Logic & Juanes dropped a remix of “1-800-273-8255” feat. Alessia Cara & Khalid; Future & Young Thug featured on Chris Brown’s “High End”; Nick Hakim dropped the Daniel Kaufman video for “Cuffed” off Green Twins; Yeah Yeah Yeahs dropped “Black Tongue” (four track demo/audio); Dub Syndicate dropped the previously unreleased track “Boggled Minds”; Fischerspooner dropped “Togetherness” feat. Caroline Polachek (Fischer Version); Alli Simpson dropped “I Won’t Remeber You Tomorrow” & “Material Boy“; BET Awards 2017 buzz; SXSW 2018 lineup buzz; Barry Jenkins chopped & screwed Grizzly Bear; Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross covered John Carpenter’s iconic Halloween theme; Steve Earle covered the Squidbillies theme song; BBC aired a documentary on David Bowie’s Heroes; Pharoah Sanders box set will be available November 10 via Mexican Summer’s Anthology Recordings; Bob Dylan dropped the previously unreleased “Making a Liar Out of Me” off the upcoming November 3 slated box set Trouble No More – The Bootleg Series Vol. 13 / 1979-1981; Lionel Richie is working on a Curtis Mayfield biopic; Azealia Banks & RZA’s musical drama film Love Beats Rhymes will be released December 1; Anthology of Emo: Volume One book drops later this fall; Princess Nokia threw soup at a racist on the L train; Lil B apparently banned from Facebook for 30 days for violating their hate speech policies; Kodak Black apparently was indicted for sexual assault; Liam versus Noel continues; Björk talked about experiencing harassment; Gaslamp Killer accused of rape; Nelly responded to allegations of rape; Alex Calder dropped from Captured Tracks after sexual assault allegation; Matt Mondanile of Ducktails left Real Estate on allegations of sexual misconduct; Eminem’s epic freestyle of dissent at the BET Awards; and Death Grips dropped the eleven minute single take track “electronic drum solo dub mix” courtesy of percussion wizard Zach Hill.
Looking forward, it is our pleasure & privilege to present the following interviews, insights & exclusives from Indian Agent, Invisible Boy, Sleeping In, Airiel, Forced Random, Honey Harper, Little Coyote, Macajey, Slow Dakota, Sure Sure, featuring guest selections by Chuck Strangers & more—in no particular order.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Indian Agent
2. Invisible Boy
3. Sleeping In
4. Airiel
5. Forced Random
6. Honey Harper
7. Little Coyote
8. Macajey
9. Slow Dakota
10. Sure Sure
11. Week in Pop media roundup
12. Chuck Strangers’ Week in Pop guest selections