Download Kill Rock Stars' sampler with Elliott Smith, The Thermals, Sleater Kinney, various legends

Post Author:

When you're getting mixtapes thrown at you from every angle, its nice to know that the art of the record label sampler still survives, and can sometimes even look like showing off. It's a medium that's too often buried with the opportunism of industry grab bags at music festivals and epic track lists that slip a whole lot of crappy side dishes alongside a label's big cream.

Kill Rock Stars don't have that problem. If ever you forget that they've been around for more than a minute, piling high the legends and the powerhouses, just refer back to this sampler, and burn one (another Cd-r) for the west coast's true blue indie.

Check it out here.

Track list for Kill Rock Stars' digital sampler

01 ELLIOTT SMITH “Angeles” from Either/Or
02 THE THERMALS “Now We Can See” from Now We Can See
03 GOSSIP “Standing In the Way of Control” from Standing In The Way of Control
04 THAO “When We Swam” from Know Better Learn Faster
05 SLEATER KINNEY “Oh!” from One Beat
06 PANTHER “Love Is Sold” from Entropy
07 UNWOUND “Corpse Pose” from Repetition
08 THE PAPER CHASE “What Should We Do With Your Body? (The Lightning)” from Someday This Could All Be Yours (Part 1)
09 XIU XIU “Dear God, I Hate Myself” from Dear God, I Hate Myself
10 DEERHOOF “Believe E.S.P.” from Friend Opportunity
11 QUASI “Repulsion” from American Gong
12 MARNIE STERN “Transformer” from This Is It…
13 STEREO TOTAL “I Love You, Ono” from My Melody
14 LILIPUT “Ain't You” from Liliput
15 BIKINI KILL “New Radio ” from New Radio

16 BRATMOBILE “Die” from The Real Janelle
17 COMET GAIN “Kids In The Club” from Realistes
18 THE SHAKY HANDS “Allison and the Ancient Eyes” from Let It Die
19 THE DECEMBERISTS “16 Military Wives” from Picaresque
20 HORSE FEATHERS “Curs In The Weeds” from House With No Home

21 JEFF HANSON “Hiding Behind the Moon” from Son