So Cow, “Barry Richardson”

Post Author:

For years, Ireland’s So Cow have stayed outside of studios, from their 2012 debut LP, Meaningless Friendly, to the couple of splits that followed (with Squarehead and Image Makers). Later this year, they’ll be releasing their first full-studio effort, an album called The Long Con, with the help of Deerhoof drummer/producer Greg Saunier. They’ve just shared the album’s concluding track, “Barry Richardson”, a hooky ode to drinking that winds up tightly before spastically unraveling a few times over into warped melodies and guitar screeches. Barry’s the guy you don’t know but always see around and can count on to cheers with when little else is going on. And he deserves this song.

The Long Con comes out September 16 on Memphis’ Goner Records. Stream “Barry Richardson” below and check out the band’s September tour dates.

14 – Milwaukee, WI – Quarter’s Rock & Roll Palace
15 – Chicago, IL – The Empty Bottle w/ Party Bat
16 – Cleveland, OH – Now That’s Class w/ Chomp
17 – Columbus, OH – Ace Of Cups w/ The Young
18 – Pittsburgh, PA – Gooski’s w/ Shark?
19 – Brooklyn, NY – Death By Audio w/ Shark?
20 – Manhattan, NY – Cake Shop w/ The Oranges Band, Palomar
21 – Philadelphia, PA – Silk City w/ Shark?
23 – Durham, NC – Chateau Moby Dick
24 – Nashville, TN – Betty’s
25 – Memphis, TN – Gonerfest 11 w/ Grifters, Ausmuteants, Radioactivity