Stream Doug Tuttle’s It Calls On Me In Full

Post Author:
greg tuttle

Formerly in MMOSS, Doug Tuttle’s second solo affair, It Calls On Me, is psych-pop that never forgets the dark, bleary heart of the “psych” portion of the equation. A good deal of hippie-remembrance and revision forgets that underneath the nominal peace and exploration there was exploitation and addiction (among plenty of other examples of humanity trying to come to grips with our internal monsters). Tuttle’s songwriting seems as influenced by Californian folk-rock in the 1970s as it does UK folk-rock in the 1970s, and the album is lushly recorded, conjuring up the imagery of fog settling over pine trees and mountains on a yellow-grey morning. The title track and “Falling To Believe”, in particular, have memorable, plaintive hooks that hang in the air long after the album’s over.

It Calls On Me is available February 19 on Trouble In Mind. You can stream the album in full below.

Doug Tuttle tour dates:

17 Detroit, MI at Marble Bar S
18 Chicago, IL at The Owl
19 Cleveland, OH at Happy Dog
20 Cincinnati, OH at The Comet
21 Nashville, TN at East Room
22 Atlanta, GA at 529
23 Chapel Hill, NC at Local 506
24 Richmond, VA at Strange Matter
25 Brooklyn, NY at Rough Trade
26 Providence, RI at AS220
27 Boston, MA at Lillypad
2/28: Portsmouth, NH at 3S Artspace