Stream the Self-Titled premiere from These United States

Post Author:

Sneak a listen to the upcoming self-titled from These United States debuting ahead of their June 12 release date from United Interests. For the band's fifth album, Jesse Elliott, frontman, joins forces with Deer Tick's John McCauley, Cotton Jones' Michael Nau, Phosphorescent's Matthew Houck, Laura Burhenn from The Mynabirds, Ben Sollee, Langhorne Slim's David Moore, Josh Read of Revival, Duane Lundy, Justin Craig and the entire Frontier Ruckus band to bring both the frontier and the ruckus to the table.

The latest change-ups provide an enriched sound that goes in many directions, inspired by the wellspring of Elliott's descendance from Johnny “Appleseed” Chapman. Perhaps this influence enables him to re-invent modern twists with the tales of outlaw ghosts found on “Miss Underground” or the eternal driftwood raver “Never Stop Falling.” What is notable is how much the aforementioned musicians work out the sound, encompassing the record and living up to the band's moniker of creating an eclectic work built out of an Americana roots. Spanning from sea to shining sea, this is the album that Roger McGuinn always wanted to make but never did. If all this and sellout tour streaks were not enough, this lucky bunch gets to open for Willie Nelson out in New Haven next week. Rough life, dudes.

These United States' self-titled comes out June 12 from United Interests.