Dag Nasty reunite original lineup for “Cold Heart” 7-inch

Post Author:
Dag Nasty Cold Heart

A forerunner of the early “emo” era of hardcore, Dag Nasty was a regular of the late 1980s and ’90s punk scene. Formed in Washington DC in 1985, the original lineup consisted of Minor Threat/Bad Religion/Samhain guitarist Brian Baker, bassist Roger Marbury, drummer Colin Sears, and singer Shawn Brown. Though he recorded some of the early demos, Brown left the band before Dag Nasty’s debut album on Dischord Records, Can I Say. With new singer Dave Smalley, they would go on to release a second record on Dischord, before releasing records on a gamut popular punk labels of the day, including Epitaph and Revelation.

The early demos with Brown at the helm were eventually released on Dischord in 2010, and in 2015 the original lineup entered Inner Ear Studios to record with Don Zientara and Ian MacKaye for their first new music together in 30 years. The end result is the “Cold Heart” 7-inch, featuring two songs; the title-track on the A-side, and “Wanting Nothing” on the B. The announcement of the single also comes with news that the original Dag Nasty lineup will do a short tour in Europe the road later this month before returning to play the Punk Rock Bowling festival in Las Vegas..

The “Cold Heart” 7-inch will be released on May 20 via Dischord. You can stream a preview of it below, and scroll on for Dag Nasty’s upcoming tour dates.

Dag Nasty tour dates:

21 Washington, DC at Black Cat
23 Mezzago, IT at Bloom
24 Ljubljana, Slovenia at Orto Bar
26 Vienna, AT at Arena Wien
27 Munich, DE at Backstage
28 Berlin, DE at SO36
29 Hanover, DE at Kurturzentrum Faust
30 Meerhout, BE at Groezrock

26 Las Vegas, NV at Punk Rock Bowling