Previously unreleased Mars Volta material unearthed by dedicated fan

Post Author:
the mars volta

The Mars Volta may have broken up in January after ten-plus years of giving the world face-melting prog solos and conceptual albums beyond our wildest dreams, but the Comatorium (ironically?) lived on. The message board of Mars Volta fans had a moment of what we imagine to be pure bliss when one commenter posted he'd been sent 15 tracks with the tag “share this,” after which a confirmation came through from ex-drummer Thomas Prigen that the demos were indeed legit. The tracklist for the unreleased material is below and has added notes from Prigen on what the songs might be from/who they feature. You can download the unreleased material here. (via FACT)

01 14 (possible outtake from Noctourniquet LP)
02 98d87 (‘Molochwalker’ demo)
03 cmv8 (‘Sea is Rising’ demo)
04 dp (possible Omar Rodriguez-Lopez solo demo)
05 ef4 (possible ‘Casate Colmillo’ demo)
06 eog-3
07 f39h (elements later used in the live version of ‘Trinkets Pale of Moon’)
08 f9h0 (another possible ‘Casate Colmillo’ demo)
09 k49 (possible outtake from Octahedron LP)
10 pi4 (possible ‘Happiness’ demo)
11 qr5`
12 s[fqw (similar to the first track on the collection)
13 xv8 (possible ‘New York City’ demo or ‘Asco Que Conmueve Los Puntos Erogenos’ demo)
14 y2g (‘Vicarious Atonement’ demo)
15 ytj6 (also similar to the first track on the collection)