Week in Pop: KNXVES, Macajey, The Nico Missile

Post Author:

As the world continues it’s weird cycles of global conspiracies & general strangeness; Impose’s Week in Pop returns to bring you a host off the best news you’ll hear, read, see & experience on any given week. Presenting the latest breaking exclusives while first bringing you up to date with the latest buzz—we learned that LMSFN (the collective spear-headed by Different Fur Studios’ Patrick Brown), Nik Soelter of Never Young’s project Group announced the compilation Group Effort Vol. 1 available April 7 with a release show happening at Eli’s Mile High Club in Oakland as part of LMSFN’s Escape From First Fridays series featuring performances from Pardoner, Sirena Victima Boy Scouts, & Little Star; Kendrick Lamar dropped the Dave Meyers & the Little Homies video for “Humble”; Danny Brown dropped his Jonah Hill collaborative video for “Ain’t It Funny” ft. Gus Van Sant & made a gnarly pizza for charity with Tyvek’s Matt Ziolkowski; Xiu Xiu collaborating with visual artist Heidi Hahn & Venice Beach imprint Cosmic Dreamer on a limited 7″ ft. new single “Fear of the Horizon” available April 7 & covered Mozart’s “Turkish March”; Gucci Mane x Nicki Minaj dropped the Eif Rivera video for their collaboration “Make Love”; Lana Del Rey announced the album Lust for Life (coming soon), dropped the trailer & collaborated with the Weeknd on “Lust for Life”; Pharrell is apparently co-producing a musical based on growing up in Virginia Beach; Slowdive announced their first album since Pygmalion from 1995 with news that their self-titled will be available May 5 from Dead Oceans & dropped “Star Roving”; Gary Clark Jr & Tom Holkenborg (oka Junkie XL) covered “Come Together” for Justice League; Whitney announced tour & covers 12” taking on Lion’s “You’ve Got a Woman” & Dolly Parton’s “Gonna Hurry (As Slow As I Can)“; Rihanna’s “Bates Motel” scene; Amber Coffman dropped a statement about leaving Dirty Projects ahead of her upcoming solo album debut, City of No Reply & dropped “No Coffee”; Cende signed to Double Double Whammy, announcing the upcoming album #1 Hit Single available May 26 & dropped “Bed”; PWR BTTM dropped the H.S. Naji & Caleb Des Cognets video for “Answer My Text” off their album Pageant available May 12 from Polyvinyl; A Tribe Called Quest dropped the Hiro Murai video for “Dis Generation”; Mac DeMarco dropped the self-directed video for the title track “This Old Dog” taken off the upcoming album of the same name available May 5 from Captured Tracks; Sampha covered Drake’s “Controlla” & dropped the companion film piece to his album, Process; Cashmere Cat dropped “9 (After Coachella)” ft. MØ & SOPHIE off the upcoming album debut 9 available later in 2017 via Mad Love/Interscope; YG dropped the new single “Pop It, Shake It” off the upcoming Just Re’d Up 3: Know Your Worth exec. produced by DJ Mustard; Sigrid dropped the J.A.C.K (Christine and The Queens) video for “Don’t Kill My Vibe”; Mikko Joensuu announced Amen 3 available June 2 from Svart Records & dropped “House of Fire”; Logic dropped the title track “Everybody” off the upcoming new album available May 5; Calvin Harris dropped “Heatstroke” ft. Young Thug, Pharrell Williams & Ariana Grande; Drake dropped “Hush Up” ft. Wizkid; Cam’ron dropped the video for “10,000 Miles” that samples Vanessa Carlton; Bleachers dropped “Don’t Take the Money” apparently featuring back-up vocals from Lorde; A Perfect Circle announced an upcoming new album available later in 2017; Father John Misty dropped the radio edit of the 13 minute song “Leaving LA” found off the album Pure Comedy available April 7 from Sub Pop/Bella Union; Wavves guested on “Dump’d”; Run the Jewels talked crowd surfing; Black Keys and the Arcs’ Dan Auerbach announced the new solo album Waiting on a Song available June 2 through his imprint Easy Eye Sound & dropped “Shine On Me”; Saint Etienne announced the new album Home Countries available June 2 & dropped “Heather”; Broken Social Scene returned with “Halfway Home”; Sufjan Stevens announced the new audiovisual full-length Carrie & Lowell Live available April 28 from Asthmatic Kitty & dropped a listening/viewing of the title track; Animal Collective announced more shows; LCD Soundsystem announced Brooklyn residency; Mary J. Blige dropped details revealing that Kanye, Kaytranada, Missy Elliott, Quavo from Migos, DJ Khaled, Prince Charlez & more appear on her upcoming album Strength of a Woman available April 28 & dropped “Love YOurself” ft. Kanye West; Alt-J dropped “In Cold Blood” from the upcoming album Relaxer available June 2 through Canvasback Music; Explosions in the Sky announced more tour dates & dropped the Hayley Morris video for “The Ecstatics”; DIIV announced a tour, Warpaint announced a tour; Freddie Gibbs dropped You Only Live 2wice via ESGN; hype for the upcoming John Coltrane documentary Chasing Trane: The John Coltrane Story; Master P biopic King of the South is in the works; Jeff Buckley’s journals to be published in spring 2019 under the title of Jeff Buckley: His Own Voice; Mick Rock doc Shot! The Psycho-Spiritual Mantra of Rock hype; The Flaming Lips’ fetus soap; Portishead’s Geoff Barrow & composer Ben Salisbury dropped their Free Fire soundtrack; it appears Shea Stadium made a cameo in “Bob’s Burgers”; Drake canceled Amsterdam show after doors opened; Dr. Dre on the Board of Directors trying to bring the 2024 Summer Olympics to LA; Bob Dylan will finally accept his Novel Prize for Literature; Bowie’s NYC flat is on the market; Adele might not tour again; Johnny “Rotten” Lydon’s decidedly un-punk statements on “Good Morning Britain”; and we remember the late great jazz saxophonist Arthur Blythe.
As we continue to sail forward, it is our pleasure & privlige to present this week’s latest exclusives, insights, interviews, etc, from KNXVES, Macajey, The Nico Missile, Adult Karate, Dream Cult, ivyaura, JJUUJJUU, King Willow, Los Angeles Police Department, Sarah P., featuring guest selections by Lydia Ainsworth & more—in no particular order.