JD Samson's Old Dog New Mix

Post Author:
JD Samson

Young DJs gather around to hear an old DJ show you how to properly rock a party with an hour set. We first got a taste of JD's DJ-proficiency at our CMJ After Party at The Paper Box. Those in attendence should have been ragged and half-asleep after the week-long marathon of late night CMJ parties, but that night JD Samson found an energy most of us didn't know existed. She's got a special knack for the booth, which she displays with grace on her Old Dog New Mix mix, and will take to Europe for the next two weeks.

Despite being strung-out, sleep-deprived, and a little foggy from a fever the night before, I recall JD's set from CMJ. She utilizes some of the same tricks on her contribution to our Friday Night series. She sneaks in the familiar – opening with a clever Destiny's Child cover or a Mr. Jool disco cut that's mostly known as a Biggie sample on “I Love The Dough” – and then burrows in with a few records for the heads like Cajmere or Horse Meat Disco. It's always fun for everyone because her selections rarely stray too far from a comfort zone like on Diplo's “Express Yourself”, for example. The sound bwoy calls raise the energy for a grand finale of sweat, but the core is still a pristine house beat.

JD Samson could run a college course on DJing or record instructional videos. I would without attending a single class or purchasing a tape, endorse her as an aficionado of the artform. Were this 1988, JD Samson would be deserving of the highest honor in the craft. She'd be known as Grand Wizard Samson. Of that, I'm certain.

Old Dog New Mix Tracklisting:
01 Say My Name – Destiny's Child [Cyril Hahn Remix]
02 Dance With Me – Le Youth [Ottochamp Remix]
03 Let's Pretend – Brenmar
04 Face Love Anew – Stereogamous (feat. Shaun J. Wright) [Horse Meat Disco Remix]
05 Black Shoes White Socks – Freaks & Cajmere [Cajmere Remix]
06 Inspector Norse [Original Mix] – Todd Terje
07 Hum Hum [Original Mix] – Lou Lou Players, Sharam Jey
08 Yeah [Original Mix] – Amine Edge
09 The Ny House Trak – Ny Stomp
10 I Love U More [Original Mix] – Mr Jools
11 City Life [Maceo Plex Remix] – Dj T.
12 Feverish [The Revenge Remix] – Chamboche
13 Say No More – The Supermen Lovers [Jupiter Remix]
14 Everybody Dance – Chic [Zimmer Re-Work]
15 When You're Dancing [Feat. Induce] – Gigamesh
16 I'm Corrupt – Dcup [Viceroy Remix]
17 Worthy Of Your Love – Kiddy Smile
18 Its Not Right But It's OK – Whitney Houston [Thunderpuss Remix]
19 Express Yourself – Diplo [Feat. Nicky Da B]

See JD live in Europe at the following dates
25 Adams, Helsinki
26 Scharinska, Umea
31 Debaser Slussen, Stockholm
01 K4, Nuremberg
02 Trou Aux Biches @ La Java, Paris
07 Culture Centre Drugstore, Belgrade
08 Touch The Wood, Rome
09 Los Ninos, Brussels