Week in Pop: Born Days, Deep Cuts, The Hussy

Post Author:

As our thoughts & hearts are with all of those affected by the London fire & the senseless chaos that has become all too routine in our world; Impose’s Week in Pop brings you some of the brightest news & headlines as we collectively push for universal healing, peace, tranquility & infinite happiness. Bringing you the latest breaking exclusives with your obligatory rundown of stories from the week; we heard that Fresh & Onlys announced their new album Wolf Lie Down available August 25 from Sinderlyn & dropped a listen to the title track; Young Thug broke the internet & dropped the new album Beautiful Thugger Girls; Frankie Rose announced Cage Tropical available August 11 from Slumberland/Grey Market & tour & dropped “Trouble”; The Pains of Being Pure at Heart dropped “When I Dance With You” & “Anymore” off the forthcoming The Echo of Pleasure available September 1 via Kip Berman’s imprint Painbow Records; Chelsea Wolfe announced the upcoming album Hiss Spun Abyss available September 22 from Sargent House & dropped “16 Psyche”; Mach-Hommy’s Dump Gawd: Hommy Edition features production from Earl Sweatshirt & Achemist; L.A. Witch announced their debut self-titled full-length available September 8 from Suicide Squeeze Records & dropped “Untitled”; NOIA dropped the Joan Galo video for “Itaca Tropical” off her Cascine EP Habits; Aldous Harding dropped the Charlotte Evans & Produced by Evie Mackay video for “Blend” off the 4AD/Flying Nun album Party; Kendrick Lamar dropped the NBA Finals version of “DNA”; Washed Out, oka Ernst Greene, dropped “Hard to Say Goodbye” off Mister Mellow available June 30 from Stones Throw; A$AP Ferg dropped “Furious Ferg” produced by Tommyy Lovee; 2 Chainz released Pretty Girls Like Trap Music & dropped a VR experience; Dent May dropped the lyric video for “Picture on a Screen” off the upcoming album Across The Multiverse available August 18 from Carpark Records; Holograms dropped the Marcus Wilén video for “Shame” featured off their upcoming album Surrender available in July via Push My Buttons; returning after half a decade, London announced their new album Althaea available August 11 from Double Six & dropped “Eden Machine”; Gordi announced the debut album Reservoir available August 25 from Jagjaguwar & dropped “Heaven I Know”; WELL$ dropped All Kings Get Their Heads Chopped Off; Icona Pop dropped “Girls Girls”; Tei Shi delivered the Skinnydip remix of “Keep Running”; Death from Above dropped the Corey Adams video for “Freeze Me”; DJ Khaled dropped the Colin Tilley video for “Wild Thoughts” ft. Rihanna, Bryston Tiller, co-written by PARTYNEXTDOOR & sampling Santana; Action Bronson announced the new album Blue Chips 7000 & dropped “Let Me Breathe”; Rostam Batmanglij (fka Vampy Weekend) announced debut solo album Half-Light available September 8 from Nonesuch & dropped “Bike Dream”; Kaleida announced debut album Tear the Roots available September 15 from Lex Records & dropped “Echo Saw You”; Isaac Gracie dropped “All In My Mind” produced by Markus Dravs via London’s RAK Studios found off the live EP Songs In Black And White; Odesza announced the new album A Moment Apart available September 8 from Counter Records & dropped “Corners of the Earth” ft. RY X & “Meridian“; The Horrors dropped “Machine” produced by Paul Epworth & playing London’s Omeara July 11; The War on Drugs dropped the Brett Haley video for “Holding On” starring Frankie Faison & band leader Adam Granduciel; Beach House dropped the video for “Chariot”; Selena Gomez dropped the Jesse Peretz video for “Bad Liar”; Four Tet’s two hour set; Jaden Smith dropped the video for “Batman” ft. Tyler, the Creator rolling around with Smith in a Tesla; Nas performed “One Mic” with Jack White; Ride released first album in 20 years with Weather Diaries & dropped the Jade Mortimer video for “All I Want”; Macklemore dropped “Glorious” ft. Skylar Grey & production by Josh “Budo” Karp & Tyler Dopps; Sadistik dropped the Tim Slew video for “God Complex”; Sufjan Stevens dropped thoughts on Katy Perry’s new album Witness; Moby dropped the album More Fast Songs About the Apocalypse; Fleet Foxes dropped performance footage of “Third of May / Ōdaigahara” via Live from the Artists Den at The Knockdown Center in Queens, NY; M.I.A. dropped the video for “Finally”; Helado Negro’s “Dream Sequence remix” for Jacuzzi Boys’ “Tip of My Tongue Edge of My Brain”; Stevie Nicks dropped “You’re Hand I Will
Never Let It Go”; The Clientele announced the new album Music for the Age of Miracles available September 22 from Merge & dropped “Lunar Days”; The Killers announced the new album Wonderful Wonderful & dropped “The Man”; Perfume Genius to tour with the xx in the fall; Andrew W.K. announced the upcoming The Party Never Dies Tour happening this fall; Flying Lotus announced live 3D set for FYF Fest; Lorde announced more tour dates; Athens Popfest dropped the final lineup for the August 9-12 festival; Desert Daze 2017 lineup buzz, happening October 12-15 in Joshua Tree, CA; Run the Jewels will be introduced by Jeremy Corbyn at Glastonbury; Slowdive announced tour dates; LCD Soundsystem’s Brooklyn Steel residency; Foster the People announced Sacred Hearts Club available July 21 & tour; Queens of the Stone Age alluded to new album; Manchester Orchestra announced tour; Tegan and Sara announced acoustic tour celebrating the one decade anniversary of The Con; Lord Huron announced summer tour dates; Deerhoof dropped their Boston Calling performance & tour dates; independent pop legends Television Personalities will have their pivotal albums And Don’t The Kids Just Love It, Mummy Your Not Watching Me, The Painted Word & They Could Have Been Bigger Than The Beatles reissued July 14 via Fire Records; Psychic TV are reissuing Pagan Day (1984) & Allegory And Self July 14 through Sacred Bones/Dais & dropped “Godstar” video & vintage interview; The Smiths drop “The Queen is Dead” reissues; Brian Eno classic albums to be remastered/reissued August 4 on wax & Eno also dropped a Coldplay app; Sharon Van Etten dropped the “Not Myself” Hercules and Love Affair remix as a benefit for the Everytown for Gun Safety Support Fund on the anniversary of the Pulse nightclub shooting; hear Prince’s previously unreleased “Father’s Song“; Neil & Pegi Young canceled their long running Bridge School Benefit; Azealia Banks’ credit card debt issues; voting elective changes made by The Recording Academy ahead of the 60th Grammy Awards; Arcade Fire’s Creature Comfort Cereal & dropped the video of the same name; PWR BTTM re-emerged with new management; Yoko Ono finally received a songwriting credit for John Lennon’s “Imagine”; Hova in praise of all in the rap game & penned an op-ed on bail bond industry injustices & more; the All Eyes On Me Tupac Shakur biopic backlash has begun; we continue mourn the passing of Valerie LeClair; we remember the iconic Anita Pallenberg; and Gene Simmons really wants to trademark the horned hand gesture.
Moving the conversation forward, it is our pleasure & privilege to present the following world exclusives, interviews & insights from Born Days, Deep Cuts, The Hussy, Ekurtis, Space Tyger, featuring guest selections by Larkin Grimm & more—in no particular order.