Angel Olsen signs with Jagjaguwar, embarking on Spring tour

Dayna Evans

angel olsen

Beatific, sultry singer and guitar player Angel Olsen, whose name belies the way we feel about her, signed with Jagjaguwar yesterday in a move over from bedroom label Bathetic. This news comes with the announcement that Bathetic will be rereleasing Olsen's debut solo album, Strange Cacti, on vinyl, and her second record, Half Way Home, will finally see the light of day in CD form come May 14. We're thrilled to hear Olsen will be getting a grander scale of attention, as her talent knows no bounds. You can order both of these releases at Bathetic's site, and visit this page to see Angel Olsen's first-person documentation of her East Coast Half Way Home tour.

SUPPORT INDEPENDENT MUSIC! GIVE US A FOLLOW:


Olsen kicks off her new tour this Saturday, making stops all around the country as a headliner and then in support of Kurt Vile. You can see her lovely and raw talent at these places:

Sat. April 6 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Sun. April 7 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Crepe Place
Mon. April 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Tue. April 9 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Wed. April 10 – Phoenix, AZ @ Trunk Space
Fri. April 12 – Tucson, AZ @ Solar Culture
Sat. April 13 – Santa Fe, NM @ High Mayhem
Sun. April 14 – Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive
Mon. April 15 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Tue. April 16 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Thu. April 18 – Portland, OR @ Bunk Bar
Fri. April 19 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Sat. April 20 – Seattle, WA @ Sonic Boom Records [RECORD STORE DAY]
Sun. April 21 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club
Mon. April 22 – Cottage Grove, OR @ Opal Center for Arts & Education
Wed. April 24 – Sacramento, CA @ Bows & Arrows
Thu. May 2 – Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Fri. May 3 – Cork, IE @ Half Moon Theatre
Sat. May 4 – Sun. May 5 – Kilkenny Roots Festival, IE
Mon. May 6 – Belfast, UK @ Black Box
Wed. May 8 – London, UK @ Cinema Museum [SOLD OUT]
Thu. May 16 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Kurt Vile [SOLD OUT]
Fri. May 17 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair w/ Kurt Vile
Sat. May 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ Kurt Vile
Sun. May 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands
Fri. July 19 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Fri. Aug. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Fri. Aug. 30 – Sun. Sep. 1 – Larmer Tree Gardens, UK @ End of the Road Festival

For a view of what's in store, here's some rare footage of Olsen playing “The Waiting” in her Chicago kitchen:

Tags: , , ,

 
Impose Main

image_of_WHY_in_concert

Sign up for the IMPOSE Entertainment Email Newsletter

powered by ArcaMax

Updates sent straight to your inbox, YOU DONT HAVE TO LIFT A FINGER

x
people_at_concert

Sign up for the IMPOSE Entertainment Email Newsletter

powered by ArcaMax

Thousands of your peers have already signed up.

So what are you waiting for?

x