Week in Pop: Confident Hitmakers, Lulu Lewis, Nihilist Cheerleader

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Embracing the new seasonal beginnings of spring, Impose’s Week in Pop shares some of the latest artists & media to lead us collectively into the new solstice.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Confident Hitmakers
2. Lulu Lewis
3. Nihilist Cheerleader
4. Admlithi
5. FlygerWoods
6. Mamalarky
7. Quiet Friend
8 Week in Pop media roundup
9. Seth Graham’s Week in Pop guest selections
Presenting your obligatory break-down of the week’s top headlines, we deliver the news that Junglepussy dropped the new track “Showers” from the upcoming album available later this year; Vacationer dropped “Magnetism”; Clairo dropped the Matt Dillon video for “Flaming Hot Cheetos”; Rae Sremmurd dropped the video for “Powerglide” ft. Juicy J; Death Grips are apparently working on a new album with Andrew Adamson & William Shatner revealed that he might be a fan; Tee Grizzley dropped “Don’t Even Trip” ft. Moneybagg Yo & production by Chopsquad DJ; MC Paul Barman announced the new album (((echo chamber))) (featuring appearances from producers Questlove, MF DOOM, Mark Ronson, Prince Paul) available May 18 from Mello Music Group & dropped the title track ft. Open Mike Eagle; Ross From Friends announced the Aphelion EP available April 6 from Brainfeeder & dropped “John Cage”; Leon Bridges dropped “Bad Bad News” & “Bet Ain’t Worth the Hand“; Burial & the Bug, aka Kevin Martin, collaborate under the moniker Flame 1 & dropped “Fog” off the Fog/Shrine EP available March 30 via Pressure; mmph announced the debut EP Dear God available April 13 from & dropped the Maria Constanza video for “Sun God”; Cody Critcheloe, oka SSION & Ariel Pink dropped the video for “At Least the Sky is Blue”; Saba announced the new album Care For Me available April 5; Black Summer remixed Xavier Dunn’s “Isic Tutor”; Uppermost dropped the title track from the upcoming album Perseverance available March 23; G-Eazy dropped the Colin Tiley video for “Sober” ft. Charlie Puth; Bulgarian’s Ruth Koleva announced the second album Confidence. Truth available March 30 & dropped the live video for “Didn’t I”; Courtney Barnett dropped the Danny Cohen video for “Need a Little Time” off the upcoming album Tell Me How You Really Feel available May 18 through Mom + Pop/Marathon Artists/Milk! Records; Nate Mosie dropped the album Tangerine; Toni Braxton dropped “Sex & Cigarettes” off the upcoming Def Jam album of the same name available March 23; Kitty dropped “Recccord”; Q-Tip & Demi Lovato dropped the Hector Dockrill video for their cover of Elton Johhn’s “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart”; Craig Finn & The Uptown Controllers dropped “Galveston” from the Kevin Devine split Devinyl Split No. 7 available March 30; Pearl Jam dropped “Can’t Deny Me”; Vina Love dropped the video for “Air” & the Ted Smooth remix ft. DJ Kid Capri & Snoop Dogg; Arcade Fire dropped the David Wilson film short “Money + Love”; Rén with the Mane dropped “Already Gone”; Rich Aucoin dropped “The Dream”; HEREN dropped “Animals (Raw Love)” ft. Bearoid; RL Grime dropped “I Wanna Know”; Twin Shadow dropped “Brace” ft. Rainsford off the upcoming album Caer available April 27; Taylor Swift dropped the Joseph Kahn video for “Delicate”; Sacred Bones introduced the Record Society Membership subscription service; EELS dropped “Premonition”; Liz Phair announced the Girly-Sound to Guyville: The 25th Anniversary Box Set available May 4 via Matador with a stateside tour in June & dropped “Divorce Song (Girly-Sound version)”; David Byrne with the Detroit School of Arts dropped the video for “Everybody’s Coming to My House” & covered Janelle Monáe’s “Hell You Talmbout”; Brian Eno announced the box set Music for Installations; Roger Waters dropped the video for “Supremacy” ft. Trio Joubran; Beyoncé & JAY-Z announced the upcoming “OTR II” tour; BROCKHAMPTON announced the stateside edition of Stereo Spirit tour in support of SATURATION III; Lee Bains III & the Glory Fires announced an all-Georgia tour with Algiers, Omni & Mourning [A] Blkstar; Glaare & The Black Mare announced their spring tour; Portland’s own Typhoon announced tour dates; Bonny Doon announced stateside tour with Band of Horses; Logic announced a tour; Rex Orange County announced summer tour; Arcade Fire announced the “Everything Now Continued” tour; Dead Rider announced April tour dates; Jack White announced three intimate shows in LA, Brooklyn & London in support of third solo album Boarding House Reach; Violent Femmes announced a summer tour; Bon Iver announced tour; Arctic Monkeys announced stateside tour dates; Ariel Pink to curate the Experimental Stage at OFF Festival; Mountin Jam festival buzz; Boots Riley dropped the trailer for the artist’s upcoming movie Sorry To Bother You; Bauhaus’ co-founder Kevin Haskins released the art book Bauhaus – Undead courtesy of Cleopatra Records; iHeartRadio Music Awards buzz; Jenn Hval announced the new novel titled Paradise R
; Phil Elverum reflects on Lil Peep; Drake & Travis Scott played “Fortnite” with Tyler “Ninja” Blevins; David Bowie to be immortalized as a statue; Miley Cyrus sued for alleged copyright infringement over “We Can’t Stop”; Yeezy clothing line sued for alleged copyright infringement; Tyler, the Creator canceled shows in South America; that eccentric Julian Casablancas interview; Pinegrove apparently have completed a new album, but the release is still uncertain; Rihanna responded to callous Snapchat ad; YoungBoy NBA out on bail; iHeartMedia filed for bankruptcy; Silent Barn’s doors will close April 30; and we remember the life & works of Craig Mack, Delicious Vinyl‘s Matt Dike, percussionist Charclie Quintana & DJ Spoko.
As we move forward, we present the latest breaking media exclusives from Confident Hitmakers, Lulu Lewis, Nihilist Cheerleader, Admlithi, FlygerWoods, Mamalarky, Quiet Friend, featuring guest selections by Seth Graham & more—in no particular order.